Peru

Peru is a state in western South Americas and borders Ecuador and Colombia to the north, Brazil to the east, Bolivia to the southeast, Chile to the south and the Pacific Ocean to the west. A significant proportion of the indigenous population in particular live below or on the edge of the poverty line. From a regional point of view, most of the poor are located in the outskirts of Lima and in the rural areas of the Sierra and Selva.

The total length of Peru’s national borders is 7.101 kilometers. Peru is located in three different landscape zones with their climatic characteristics: Costa (coast) – about 12% of the state area; Sierra (Andes, Highlands) – about 28%; Selva (rainforest) and Montaña (cloud forest) – about 60%.

Population

Rural depopulation is due to the strong immigration of Peruvians to the capital city Lima, which currently has about a quarter of the country’s population. A significant proportion of the indigenous population in particular live below or on the edge of the poverty line. From a regional point of view, most of the poor are located in the outskirts of Lima and in the rural areas of the Sierra and Selva. Because of the contrasts in ethnic cultures, socio-political disparities, mismanagement and bureaucracy, there is insufficient care for the people. Food imports and thus high foreign exchange expenditures. Around two and a half million Peruvian citizens live abroad due to continued emigration, mostly in the US, Europe and Japan.

Ethnicities

Peru, along with Bolivia and Guatemala, is one of the three countries in Latin America with a large proportion of indigenous people. 44% of the population are mestizos, about 31% of Native American descent. The latter belong predominantly to the Quechua and Aymará speaking peoples. 15% are of European descent and the proportion of Afro-Peruvians is estimated to be four per cent. The remaining three percent are of Asian descent. Pozuzo and Oxapampa in the Pasco department have been home to an assimilated minority of Rhineland and Tyrolean settlers since the 19th century, mainly settling in the second half of the 19th century. The rainforest on the border with Ecuador is home to around 15 previously uncontacted Indian groups, which have an internationally recognised legal right to isolation, as they have little resistance to diseases such as influenza. Therefore, the Indian organization Asociación Interétnica de Desarrollo de la Selva Peruana is suing against the oil production of the French company Perenco. It calls for the establishment of a protected zone (“untouchable zone”), as Ecuador established in 1999 to the tune of 7500 km ².

Languages

The most common language is Spanish, spoken as a mother tongue by about 80% of the population, and indigenous languages are in use, of which the Quechua is the most common at 13.2% and the Aimara. Peru’s Spanish has a variety of regional colours. What they all have in common, however, is Seseo, which is common throughout South America.

Religion

According to the census collected in 2007, about 81.3% of the population over the age of twelve describe themselves as Catholic, about 12.5% as Protestant (in the original religión evangélica), 2.9% say they are not religious, and 3.3% say an unlisted religion. The proportion of Catholics in rural regions is about 5 percentage points lower than in cities. The vast majority of Peruvians are nonetheless Roman Catholic. This is a consequence of Christian proselytizing in the aftermath of the conquest by the Spanish and after independence by missionary groups from Peru itself, from Germany, the US, Italy and other countries. During the course of the Conquista, idols and religious objects were continually shifted further east to deprive them of the Spanish. Starting from the Inkanat Vilcabamba, the old cults were once again flaring up. The Spanish administration under Francisco de Toledo responded by relocating to Jesuit reductions. Monks were mainly involved in the missionary work, including Dominicans and Franciscans, and later also Jesuits (in Maynas, today the diocese of Chachapoyas). Despite centuries of fighting indigenous traditions, the Catholic-Christian rites are mixed with religious traditions from pre-Columbian times, especially in rural areas. Manifested. Important religious events are the Catholic festival Señor de los Milagros in Lima and in Cusco the sun festival Inti Raymi. This originally Inca festival was reinstated in the course of a growing return in 1944. The Indígenas of the Amazon valley continue to have their own religions and ideas, for example the religion of the Asháninka. As in many Latin American countries as well in Peru, evangelical and charismatic churches and religious communities such as Seventh-day Adventists, Assemblies of God and the Evangelical Church of Peru have been experiencing evangelical and charismatic churches and religious communities such as Seventh-day Adventists, Assemblies of God and the Evangelical Church of Peru, as well as others. Groups like the Jehovah’s Witnesses and the Mormons have a great deal of intake, which – partly financially supports from the US – actively and sometimes aggressively advertise members.

Health

The national census on indigenous people showed in 2007 that nearly 60% of the communities covered do not have access to health facilities. As a result, universal health insurance was introduced in 2010. There is discrimination against indigenous people in health care. Peru has one of America’s highest maternal mortality rates. Infant mortality is 17 out of every 1,000 live births (for comparison, for Chile, the mortality rate is 5). A third of Peru’s population has no flowing water, 40% have no sewerage and only 20% of wastewater is treated.

X

Peru

Peru ist ein Staat im westlichen Südamerika und grenzt im Norden an Ecuador und Kolumbien, im Osten an Brasilien, im Südosten an Bolivien, im Süden an Chile und im Westen an den Pazifik. Ein erheblicher Teil vor allem der indigenen Bevölkerung lebt unterhalb oder am Rande der Armutsgrenze. Regional betrachtet befinden sich die meisten Armen in den Randzonen Limas und in den ländlichen Gebieten der Sierra und der Selva.

Die Gesamtlänge der Landesgrenzen Perus beträgt 7.101 Kilometer. Peru liegt in drei unterschiedlichen Landschaftszonen mit ihren klimatischen Besonderheiten: Costa (Küste) – ca. 12 % der Staatsfläche; Sierra (Anden, Hochland) – ca. 28 %; Selva (Regenwald) und Montaña (Nebelwald) – ca. 60 %.

Bevölkerung  

Landflucht bedingt die starke Zuwanderung von Peruanern in die Hauptstadt, in der derzeit rund ein Viertel der Bevölkerung des Landes lebt. Ein erheblicher Teil vor allem der indigenen Bevölkerung lebt unterhalb oder am Rande der Armutsgrenze. Regional betrachtet befinden sich die meisten Armen in den Randzonen Limas und in den ländlichen Gebieten der Sierra und der Selva. Auf Grund der Gegensätze in den ethnischen Kulturen, soziopolitischer Disparitäten, der Misswirtschaft und Bürokratie kommt es zu einer ungenügenden Versorgung der Menschen. Nahrungsmittelimporte und somit hohe Devisenausgaben folgen. Rund zweieinhalb Millionen peruanische Staatsbürger leben aufgrund einer anhaltenden Auswanderung im Ausland, vor allem in den USA, Europa und Japan.

Ethnien

Peru ist neben Bolivien und Guatemala eines der drei Länder Lateinamerikas mit einem großen Anteil indigener Bevölkerung. 44% der Einwohner sind Mestizen, etwa 31% indianischer Abstammung. Letztere gehören überwiegend zu den Quechua und Aymará sprechenden Völkern. 15% sind europäischer Abstammung  und auf vier Prozent wird der Anteil der Afro-Peruaner geschätzt. Die übrigen drei Prozent sind asiatischer Abstammung. In Pozuzo und Oxapampa im Departement Pasco lebt seit dem 19. Jahrhundert eine assimilierte Minderheit von Rheinländer und Tiroler Siedlern, welche sich überwiegend in der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts ansiedelten. Im Regenwald an der Grenze zu Ecuador leben rund 15 bisher nicht kontaktierte Indianergruppen, die einen international anerkannten Rechtsanspruch auf Isolierung besitzen, da sie nur eine geringe Resistenz gegen Krankheiten wie Grippe aufweisen. Daher klagt die Indianerorganisation Asociación Interétnica de Desarrollo de la Selva Peruana gegen die Ölförderung des französischen Unternehmens Perenco. Sie fordert die Einrichtung einer Schutzzone („unberührbare Zone“), wie sie Ecuador 1999 im Umfang von 7500 km² eingerichtet hat.

Sprachen

Die verbreitetste Sprache ist Spanisch, das von ca. 80 % der Bevölkerung als Muttersprache gesprochen wird, außerdem sind indigene Sprachen im Gebrauch, von denen das Quechua mit 13,2 % und das Aimara die gebräuchlichsten sind. Das Spanisch Perus weist vielfältige regionale Färbungen auf. Allen gemeinsam ist jedoch der in ganz Südamerika verbreitete Seseo.

Religion

Nach dem 2007 erhobenen Zensus beschreiben sich etwa 81,3 % der Bevölkerung über zwölf Jahren als katholisch, etwa 12,5 % als evangelisch  (im Original religión evangélica), 2,9 % geben an, nicht religiös zu sein, und 3,3 % geben eine nicht aufgeführte Religion an. Dabei ist der Anteil der Katholiken in ländlichen Regionen etwa 5 Prozentpunkte niedriger als in den Städten. Die überwiegende Mehrheit der Peruaner ist dennoch römisch-katholisch. Dies ist eine Folge der christlichen Missionierung in der Folge der Eroberung durch die Spanier und nach der Unabhängigkeit durch die Missionionierung von Missionsgruppen aus Peru selbst, aus Deutschland, den USA, Italien und anderen Ländern. Während des Verlaufes der Konquista wurden Idole und religiöse Objekte fortwährend weiter nach Osten verlagert, um sie den Spaniern zu entziehen. Ausgehend vom Inkanat Vilcabamba kam es noch einmal zu einem Aufflackern der alten Kulte. Die spanische Verwaltung unter Francisco de Toledo reagierte darauf mit der Umsiedlung in Jesuitenreduktionen. An der Missionstätigkeit waren vor allem Mönche beteiligt, unter anderem Dominikaner und Franziskaner, später auch Jesuiten (in Maynas, heute Bistum Chachapoyas). Trotz jahrhundertelanger Bekämpfung indigener Überlieferungen sind nicht zuletzt in ländlichen Gebieten die katholisch-christlichen Riten mit religiösen Traditionen aus präkolumbianischer Zeit vermischt (Synkretismus), was sich besonders bei religiösen Festen manifestiert. Wichtige religiöse Ereignisse sind das katholische Fest Señor de los Milagros in Lima und in Cusco das Sonnenfest Inti Raymi. Dieses ursprünglich inkaische Fest wurde im Zuge einer wachsenden Rückbesinnung im Jahr 1944 wieder eingerichtet. Die Indígenas des Amazonas-Tieflands haben weiterhin ihre eigenen Religionen und Vorstellungen, zum Beispiel die Religion der Asháninka. Wie in vielen lateinamerikanischen Ländern erleben auch in Peru seit einigen Jahrzehnten evangelikale und charismatische Kirchen und Glaubensgemeinschaften wie Siebenten-Tags-Adventisten, Assemblies of God und die Evangelikale Kirche von Peru, aber auch andere Gruppierungen wie die Zeugen Jehovas und die Mormonen einen großen Zulauf, die – teilweise finanziell aus den USA unterstützt – aktiv und manchmal auch aggressiv um Mitglieder werben.

Gesundheit

Der nationale Zensus über die indigene Bevölkerung hat 2007 gezeigt, dass fast 60% der erfassten Gemeinden keinen Zugang zu gesundheitlichen Einrichtungen haben. 2010 wurde aufgrund dessen eine allgemeine Krankenversicherung eingeführt. In der Gesundheitsversorgung gibt es Diskriminierung indigener Völker. Peru hat eine der höchsten Müttersterblichkeitsraten Amerikas. Die Säuglingssterblichkeit liegt bei 17 von 1.000 Lebendgeborenen (zum Vergleich: für Chile liegt die Sterblichkeitsrate bei 5). Ein Drittel der peruanischen Bevölkerung hat kein fließendes Wasser, für 40 % gibt es keine Kanalisation und nur 20 % der Abwasser werden behandelt.

X